Jump to content

  • Most Recent Topics

  • f(x) Schedule

  • Welcome to Aff(x)tion Forums
    Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
    Login to Account Create an Account

    [WARNING] PMs regarding unknown links


    • This topic is locked This topic is locked
    61 replies to this topic

    #1
    Jenson

    Jenson

      f(affxtionate member)

    • Administrator
    • 4,716 posts
    • Gender:Not Telling
    • I love Luna (루나)
    Hello,

    Recently, there have been Private Messages going around from random people that includes something like:

    QUOTE
    Hello friend, i found you -insert fake link here-


    Never click on unknown links if you're unsure of it. Most of the time unknown links can cause viruses which in this case, did. If you have please make you change your password AND scan your computer for viruses using tools such as:

    Ad-Aware

    Trend-Micro
    How to tell what "bit" to download: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/827218

    Well if you don't want to go through the trouble of reading/doing all that, you can just download both and one of them should give you an error saying that "This is for xx bit type only"

    These are probably the best tools that I have used for scanning my computer for viruses. Please make sure that once you remove the viruses from your computer to be sure to change your passwords as well.

    Don't EVER type in your Username and Password on sites that you are not familiar with. EVEN if it does look like something you visit often. People can steal code and make pages look identical so MAKE sure the www._________.com is something you are familiar with.

    Also please leave the person's username that PMed you so that we can take the appropriate actions


    #2
    minagoon

    minagoon

      f(newbie)

    • Members
    • 3 posts
    There was that kinds om PM's on 4-Minute.com
    I can't seem why people bother T_T
    But yes, be careful everyone >.<
    Hope nothing bad happens here..

    #3
    PirinkO

    PirinkO

      f(property of tae)

    • Members
    • 1,135 posts
    • Gender:Female
    • Location:Australia
    • I love f(x)!
    Ohh... the poor people who unknowingly clicked the link T__T;;

    This must suck, are you any closer to banning the person who was sending them? @__@

    #4
    Jenson

    Jenson

      f(affxtionate member)

    • Administrator
    • 4,716 posts
    • Gender:Not Telling
    • I love Luna (루나)
    We already banned the person who was sending these Private Messages, but there will always be more people (just like Viagra spammers) so we need your help to provide the username of the person who PMs you.

    Change your password if you clicked on the link and inputted anything. There has been more PMs on other forums going around saying that they are Administrators.

    Administrators here will NEVER link you to other sites.

    #5
    sweetcake

    sweetcake

      f(member)

    • Member+
    • 35 posts
    oh gosh I did click that link, like last week. Gosh! now I know why my firefox and my computer are acting weird these days TT__TT

    Oh yeah, I'm using norton program, and i'm currently scanning my computer now, do u guys think norton will work in this case?

    #6
    Amber&LunaRox

    Amber&LunaRox

      f(affxtionate member)

    • Member+
    • 241 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Malaysia
    Wow this sure sounds serious, good thing I didn't get any PM like that...
    Be careful everyone... :)

    #7
    dafp042194

    dafp042194

      Mazeltov.

    • Member+
    • 216 posts
    • Gender:Female
    • Location:Underneath colorful balloons.★
    ARGH. Just because of that link....... -.-

    I told my friend to reformat my laptop today, but he told me he can`t...
    It can`t just because of that virus on the link. -.-
    So much for reformatting my <3 (laptop). :(

    I hope you guys take care of the forum very well. <33

    #8
    yUUkie

    yUUkie

      f(affxtionate member)

    • Member+
    • 320 posts
    • Gender:Female
    • Location:in front of you~
    • I love f(x)!
    wow,this is very serious.hope that nothing bad happen here.thanks for the warning.



    #9
    Michi

    Michi

      f(dedicated member)

    • Member+
    • 178 posts
    • Gender:Female
    There's also something like this from SFI and 4minute forums..
    These people have no life, seriously. O.O

    #10
    eMCeejhei

    eMCeejhei

      f(dedicated member)

    • Member+
    • 154 posts
    • Gender:Female
    thanks for the reminder..I kind of received this kind of message from other int'l forum..
    good thin I didn't click the link..




    #11
    choi:choi:

    choi:choi:

      f(dedicated member)

    • Member+
    • 196 posts
    • Location:Planet Earth
    oh no

    just be careful on every ting you

    will do here

    hope nothing bad will happen

    #12
    smarkliang

    smarkliang

      f(dedicated member)

    • Member+
    • 170 posts
    • Location:Singapore
    ohhhhhhh its too bad why such ppl have bad mind. thanks for little prince for updating us and alret us

    QUOTE (。◕‿‿ ◕。  @ Jan 9 2010, 09:10 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
    Hello,

    Recently, there have been Private Messages going around from random people that includes something like:



    Never click on unknown links if you're unsure of it. Most of the time unknown links can cause viruses which in this case, did. If you have please make you change your password AND scan your computer for viruses using tools such as:

    Ad-Aware

    Trend-Micro
    How to tell what "bit" to download: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/827218

    Well if you don't want to go through the trouble of reading/doing all that, you can just download both and one of them should give you an error saying that "This is for xx bit type only"

    These are probably the best tools that I have used for scanning my computer for viruses. Please make sure that once you remove the viruses from your computer to be sure to change your passwords as well.

    Don't EVER type in your Username and Password on sites that you are not familiar with. EVEN if it does look like something you visit often. People can steal code and make pages look identical so MAKE sure the www._________.com is something you are familiar with.

    Also please leave the person's username that PMed you so that we can take the appropriate actions




    Thank you little prince for the alert email appriciate for the initiative and inform us. thanks cheers

    #13
    aff(x)tions

    aff(x)tions

      f(newbie)

    • Members
    • 7 posts
    • Gender:Female
    its so weird i got a PM today saying that there are viruses on my pc
    scary

    #14
    Pannaa

    Pannaa

      f(member)

    • Members
    • 22 posts
    • Gender:Female
    • Location:Los Angeles
    Hi. I got a PM recently today from XandderrMan saying that I had a virus (?) when I didn't. he gave me link. I was about to go on it but gladly  you sent us PMs and warned us about this. Thank you so much for this warning. I almost got a virus.



    I hope we can ban them T___T thanks

    #15
    Keiko1812

    Keiko1812

      f(newbie)

    • Members
    • 2 posts
    QUOTE (Pannaa @ Feb 5 2010, 08:48 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
    Hi. I got a PM recently today from XandderrMan saying that I had a virus (?) when I didn't. he gave me link. I was about to go on it but gladly  you sent us PMs and warned us about this. Thank you so much for this warning. I almost got a virus.


    I just get the PM from the same person too and his status read banned so I don't know how he can still send the PM. I didn't click the link thank God >< and thanks so much for the warn

    #16
    otomo

    otomo

      f(member)

    • Member+
    • 32 posts
    • Gender:Female
    i got it too. it said my laptop infected by various virus and told me to check my laptop at the website. luckily i read this forum before, so i didn't click it.

    #17
    jelly fish

    jelly fish

      f(newbie)

    • Members
    • 4 posts
    • Gender:Female
    • Location:Moscow, Russia
    I recived PM from XandderrMan

    QUOTE
    Hello, friend. There are viruses' activities from your computer in last few days. Strongly recommend you to check your computer. You can find a report about your computer's security and solve every problem with it here: THERE WAS A LINK /detected/jelly fish
    Thank you. Forum member.


    #18
    Jenson

    Jenson

      f(affxtionate member)

    • Administrator
    • 4,716 posts
    • Gender:Not Telling
    • I love Luna (루나)
    ^ Thanks that user has already been banned.

    If you guys notice under the user's avatar or username and it says "Banned", we have already taken action but please do not click the link at all. Once again thanks for helping make Aff(x)tion a better place

    #19
    valentsia

    valentsia

      f(member)

    • Members
    • 29 posts
    • Gender:Female
    • Location:Sydney, Australia
    QUOTE
    I just get the PM from the same person too and his status read banned so I don't know how he can still send the PM. I didn't click the link thank God >< and thanks so much for the warn


    me too =O
    i hate the people who sent something like that ><
    annoying! and dangerrrrr

    yeah i read, banned on the account that's why i didnt open it
    thanks for the information

    #20
    Nooga

    Nooga

      f(newbie)

    • Members
    • 1 posts
    • Gender:Female
    • Location:Canada
    if i only i read this before i clicked the link
    thank god my norton anti virus handled it




    0 user(s) are reading this topic

    0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users